Shadows [original poem]

I didn’t mean to hurt you.
I didn’t mean to make you cry.
I didn’t mean to hurt you.
I never wanted you to say goodbye.

And now you’re gone
Leaving me with a shadow
One that will not fade away
No matter what they say

You’ve left me with your shadow
And the loneliness is here
Alone with me
And you aren’t there

Forever remembering
Trying to picture your face
Your quiet smile
Your sweet embrace

But you are gone
And with you, the memories fade
I look up at the stars
But without you, they aren’t the same

I didn’t mean to hurt you.
I didn’t mean to make you cry.
I didn’t mean to hurt you.
I never wanted you to say goodbye.

I guess it’s my turn now
To let the tables turn
To fix my heart and mind
And let myself go

You left me with your shadow
And I’ll leave you with mine
Together we’ll be there
Forgiven for our crimes

Feet splashing the water
I look down at the icy lake below
And with one little sigh
I let myself go

Our shadows together
We will soar through the skies
No one to hurt us
But no sunrise

But
No
Sunrise.

5 thoughts on “Shadows [original poem]

    • Thank you so much! Oh I’m so glad you like my poems, I wasn’t sure whether to share them or not. I completely agree- it really helps me let things out and put it into words. I love your blog and I’m so glad I found yours – thank you for the lovely encouraging comment πŸ™‚ x

      Like

Please feel free to leave any feedback below:

