Shackled to life

IMG_1379-0.JPG

Drawn on 24/11/2013.

I had to edit over my signature as this is an anonymous blog and I didn’t want to share my full name, so sorry about that. Apart from that, the photo is unedited.

I’m not great at drawing but I would love to know your thoughts on this.
For me, drawing and poetry both really helped and continue to help me express myself. They don’t have to be amazing works of art/literature; mine personally were just for me to see and to feel like the emotions were ok to feel? I don’t know if that makes sense. Basically, there is no need to ignore emotions, because they are important and it’s ok to feel upset or down.

We wouldn’t know happiness if we had never first felt sadness.

In this particular drawing I was feeling hopeless and trapped, with nowhere to go and constantly being judged and imprisoned in my mind (link to the blog name!) , and constantly tied to your illness with no separation of you vs. your illness. I also felt (and still feel) trapped in life, not being able to leave, and feeling stuck in a world where you don’t belong.
And, for me, this is what the drawing represents.

If you’d like to use this drawing please go ahead, but make sure you give this blog credit and link it here.

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Shackled to life

  1. It’s an unsettling feeling. When my friends ask me “what’s going on” I feel like I haven’t accomplished anything since we last spoke. That reminder that I’m running/walking in place makes me not want to talk to anyone. But if we want to be well, that’s a big no-no for many of us. The drawing is really good. You should definitely keep at your craft. It not only is therapuetic for you but it will also inspire others.

    Like

    • Yes same here, I never know what to say because it’s easy to feel like we’re just going in circles. I couldn’t agree more; it may make us want to isolate ourselves, but we’ve got to be stronger than our illnesses and ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’. Thank you so much, I’m not great at art so I know it’s not amazing, but it helped release my feelings at the time. Thank you so, so much- my mantra is ‘live to inspire’ so it means the world to me that you think I’ll inspire others. Keep going with your blog too; together we can beat mental illnesses. Best of luck and thank you again for taking the time to read and comment.

      Like

Please feel free to leave any feedback below:

