C for cravings

As someone recovering from anorexia I have real issues with cravings. Food is scary, it has been for years now. Yet I crave it.

I eat what an average person eats or more, yet still I’m always hungry. I go through phases of having no appetite at all to wanting to eat everything all at once. It’s horrible.

I want control, I want to feel like I am choosing what I eat. I don’t even know why, surely it doesn’t matter? My brain is so illogical at times yet I can’t seem to help it. Obviously I am trying to change things and break habits, but it’s hard.

Sometimes I will have extras, I’ll be craving something so I’ll have it. And this is so, so terrifying to me. The guilt that comes afterwards is unbearable, I don’t know how to manage it and it comes with a whole other host of emotions I won’t go into.

But I keep fighting. I tell myself there is hope.

“It will be ok in the end. If it’s not ok, then it’s not the end”

What is a craving?
Oxford dictionary definition:
A powerful desire for something

Some personal advice for anyone suffering from eating disorders:
Before jumping to the conclusion that you are out of control and awful, consider whether it is harmful or not. If you’re craving chocolate and you haven’t eaten maybe as much as you should have that day then it’s important to realise the craving isn’t your enemy, in fact that is simply your body telling you it needs more fuel. Like a warning light of a car. You wouldn’t ignore that so why ignore your body?

Ways to conquer cravings:
• Distract yourself
• Listen to your body
• Record a diary
• Talk about it in therapy if you have any

I wish I could give more helpful advice but I struggle with cravings myself and don’t know how best to conquer them, I’m open to any suggestions and can always add to my list. It’s only small but it’s a start eh?

I hope you enjoyed the post, it’s a bit more personal than usual and I don’t know whether that’s good or bad; please do leave comments and let me know what you think, whether you want more of my personal experiences or less!

Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “C for cravings

  1. Sometimes a mixture of personal and facts are good as you get a better sense of the person behind the keyboard.

    Blogging is a personal diary if you like, and you do what your most comfortable with, however I will say the community here is wonderfully supportive and they welcome feedback as well as receiving it.:)

    Like

  2. I agree that this is your blog and if you feel comfortable posting something then do so. You seem to be very aware of your situation which is good. It’s normal to get cravings, it’s how you respond to them that matters. 🙂

    Like

Please feel free to leave any feedback below:

